Cochlear Implant vs Tinnitus: The Chicken or the Egg

Acouphènes et implant cochléaire : l’œuf ou la poule?

senior-man-with-hearing-problems-68VZQH2

L’acouphène fait partie des effets secondaires possibles de l’implantation cochléaire. Même si l’acouphène peut être un effet secondaire de la chirurgie, la plupart des candidats à l’implant cochléaire rapportent déjà avoir un acouphène avant la chirurgie. En effet, c’est environ 80%* des futurs implantés qui rapportent un acouphène avant la pose de l’implant.

Une fois la chirurgie passée, vous aurez une période d’environ 2 semaines à 1 mois (ce délai peut varier d’un hôpital à un autre) avant de recevoir votre processeur de son. Pendant cette période de temps, il est possible que votre acouphène soit toujours présent et peut-être même un peu plus fort. Généralement, une fois que le processeur de son est activé, l’acouphène diminue. Certains disent même que leur acouphène disparaît. Cependant, ce n’est pas toujours le cas. Pour certaines personnes il n’y a pas de changement et pour d’autres, la situation se détériore. Même si de manière générale la pose d’implant cochléaire semble avoir un effet positif sur l’acouphène, ce n’est pas toujours le cas. Les scientifiques investiguent encore ce sujet afin de mieux comprendre ce phénomène. this is not always the case. For some people, cochlear implant surgery does not change their tinnitus, or even makes their tinnitus worse. While the placement of a cochlear implant has appeared to have a positive effect on tinnitus in most cases, scientists are still investigating to better understand this phenomenon.

Si vous avez un acouphène, vous vous demandez peut-être si l’implant cochléaire peut être une solution pour vous.

Pour l’instant, au Canada, la présence d’un acouphène n’est pas une indication pour recevoir un implant cochléaire. Par contre, certaines études se penchent sur la question. Il est donc possible dans le futur que certaines personnes reçoivent un implant cochléaire pour traiter leur acouphène. Ce nombre d’implantations restera probablement limité et devra aussi être accompagné d’autres critères. Par exemple, un de ces critères pour être d’avoir une surdité complète à une oreille. C’est ce qu’on appelle une cophose unilatérale. A suivre…

* Baguley, D. M., & Atlas, M. D. (2007). Cochlear implants and tinnitus. Progress in brain research, 166, 347-355.

Leave A Comment

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

fr_FRFrench

Cochlear Implant vs Tinnitus: The Chicken or the Egg

Cochlear Implant vs Tinnitus: The Chicken or the Egg

senior-man-with-hearing-problems-68VZQH2

Tinnitus (ringing or buzzing in the ears), or worsening of existing tinnitus, is one of the possible side effects of cochlear implantation. Most cochlear implant candidates already report experiencing tinnitus before cochlear implant surgery, as it is often associated with hearing loss. In fact, around 80%* of patients report tinnitus before the implant is placed.

After surgery, there is a recovery period of approximately 2 weeks to 1 month (depending upon your hospital’s protocols) before your sound processor is activated or “turned on.” During this period, your tinnitus may still be present and may even seem a little stronger. For most people, once the sound processor is activated, and you are focused on the sounds in your environment, the tinnitus decreases or disappears altogether. However, this is not always the case. For some people, cochlear implant surgery does not change their tinnitus, or even makes their tinnitus worse. While the placement of a cochlear implant has appeared to have a positive effect on tinnitus in most cases, scientists are still investigating to better understand this phenomenon.

If you have tinnitus, you may be wondering if the cochlear implant is the right solution for you.

In Canada, the presence of tinnitus is not an indication to receive a cochlear implant. Researchers are studying this question, so it is possible that in the future some people will receive a cochlear implant to treat their tinnitus. Candidacy for a cochlear implant with tinnitus currently requires meeting other criteria, for example, being completely deaf in one ear. The impact of cochlear implantation on tinnitus continues to be investigated.

* Baguley, D. M., & Atlas, M. D. (2007). Cochlear implants and tinnitus. Progress in brain research, 166, 347-355.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_CAEnglish